County-wide support for The EQUUS Foundation and the Fairfield County Hunt Club June Horse Show

WESTPORT, CT - March 18, 2011 - The EQUUS Foundation is pleased to announce that it has been selected as the beneficiary of the Fairfield County Hunt Club June Benefit Horse Show to be held June 21-25, 2011 in Westport, Connecticut, and to recognize the members of the Horse Show Committee.

The Fairfield County Hunt Club June Benefit Horse Show offers free admission and welcomes the public to come watch national and local equestrians compete, especially at the show's culminating event, the $25,000 Grand Prix on Saturday, June 25, 2011, presented by Wells Fargo Advisors and George N. Venizelos.

Spectators and exhibitors are also welcome to attend the EQUUS Benefit Luncheon held in conjunction with the Grand Prix and enjoy a champagne reception, silent auction, and delicious buffet while watching world class riders and horses navigating over the highest level obstacles at racehorse speeds.

In addition to the Grand Prix, the show will feature a Welcome Jumper Class previewing the talents of some of the competitors in Saturday's Grand Prix and the Junior/Amateur-Owner Jumper Classic sponsored by Buick and GMC, the Official Vehicle of the Fairfield County Hunt Club June Benefit Horse Show.

"We are thrilled that Buick and GMC have signed on as the Vehicle Sponsor, and that Wells Fargo Advisors will continue to support us in 2011. Major corporations like these and many individual donors are helping The EQUUS Foundation to achieve its slogan, A Home for Every Horse", said Co-Chairs Alison Ashman and Jennifer Ross of Westport and Catherine Herman of Weston, "and to let people know the significant impact horses have in our everyday lives."

All horse show class sponsorships directly benefit The EQUUS Foundation, Inc., a 501 (c)(3) national charitable foundation dedicated to securing homes and useful lives for horses, enhancing the lives of people who benefit from horses, and advancing equestrian sport.

Committee participation is community-wide for the show, representing Darien, Easton, Fairfield, Greens Farms, Greenwich, New Canaan, Norwalk, Southport, Weston, Westport and Wilton. Joining the Show's Co-Chairs are Executive Committee members, Krista Alecia of Fairfield, Tricia Beal, Benedicte Berg, Lynn Coakley Sylvia Durno and Michelle Ippolito of Westport, Margie Bondy of Wilton, Bettina Reynertson of Darien, and Ann Coley of New York City.

Committee members from Westport and Weston include Susan Barnet, Beth Berger, Cheryl Bundy, Elaine Campbell, Candace Coberly, Elizabeth Crossfield, Catherine & David DeVoe, Carole Erger-Fass, Jane FitzGerald, Susan Fleming, Vida Florian, Beth Gralnick, Jeannine Flower, Annette French, Tracy Harris, Libby Kole, Cecilia Lieberman, Debbie McGoldrick, Erica Miller, Deborah Murtaugh, Jane Orlin, Susan Parsons, Kim Penwell, Jill Petterson, Susan Shafer, Carol Shea, Cori Trudeau and Coke Ann Wilcox.

Joining from Fairfield are JoAnn Alexander, Kaye Doyle, Elizabeth Fath, Catherine Friedline, Kendra Guilfoile, Sean Hogan, Dottie Lay, Kristen McDonald, Kimberly Murphy, Jane Neal, Virginia Pursche, Nancy Sargent, Bevo Tarika, Sarah Tierney and Carolyn Tormey; and from Southport are Claire Cassidy, Debbie Fattibene, Letty Patino, Deb Placey and Berkeley Soper.

Fairfield County committee members also include Cynthia Yowan of Darien; Durelle Green of Easton, Ariane Mermod Schreiner of Greens Farms, Priscilla Cornell and Debbie Ward of Greenwich, Mariko LeBaron and Elizabeth Lynch of New Canaan, Brenda Tananbaum and, Tracy Thomson of Norwalk, and Martha Rendeiro of Wilton.

The committee also includes New York based members include Susan Clatworthy, Ann Coley, Marianne Guadiana, and Alexis Lasser, as well as Palm Beach resident, Mary Simses.

For additional information, contact The EQUUS Foundation, Inc., 168 Long Lots Road, Westport, CT 06880, or telephone (203) 259-1550, or Email to, or visit the EQUUS website at

Printable Version

Left to Right, Alison Ashman, Elaine Campbell, Bettina Reynertson, Jennifer Ross, Margie Bondy, Jeannine Flower, Berkeley Soper, and Michelle Ippolito. Photo courtesy of The EQUUS Foundation.

Back To Top    

© Copyright 2018 EQUUS Foundation  |  Contact Us Here